Portsmouth Service League

First Citizen of Portsmouth


For eighty-three years, the citizens of Portsmouth have honored an individual for his or her contributions to the Portsmouth community by naming that individual Portsmouth’s First Citizen.  The First Citizen Committee, comprised of all living previous honorees, is now accepting nominations for the First Citizen of Portsmouth 2018, to be honored in April 2019.

A Portsmouth First Citizen should be an individual who embodies the spirit of citizenship through his or her service to the community for the sole purpose of and in the spirit of giving.  This spirit is evidenced by an individual’s civic, charitable, and religious contributions to fellow citizens, the Portsmouth and Hampton Roads communities, the state and country without remuneration and over and above the pursuit of one’s chosen vocation.

To nominate an individual, please complete the Nomination Information Form and submit a detailed letter of nomination to the First Citizen’s Committee, c/o Portsmouth Service League, PO Box 6647, Portsmouth, VA 23703.  In your nomination letter, you should describe the nominee’s background, scope of work in the community, the qualities or actions that make that work extraordinary, and why you feel the nominee should become First Citizen.  You should consider the nominee’s service to humanity, volunteer service and philanthropic contribution, governmental contributions, cultural achievements, and moral and/or religious leadership.  Your nominee need not be a resident of Portsmouth, but his or her service should have been principally in or to the City of Portsmouth.

Nominations are confidential and the nominee should not be informed of his or her nomination.  Persons having identified a citizen for nomination are encouraged to collaborate to present a broad spectrum of a nominee’s accomplishments and provide letters of endorsement. 

Please submit your nomination on or before December 31, 2018

Should you have any questions, please contact the First Citizen Committee Co-Chairs Sarah Giacometti at (757) 620-3906 or Mallory Tuttle at (757) 653-6260.