## PREVIOUS HONOREES

\*The Hon. Norman R. Hamilton - 1932

\*John A. Morris - 1939

\*Edward W. Maupin, Jr. - 1940

\*The Rt. Rev. Msgr. F. Harold Nott - 1941

\*Frank D. Lawrence - 1942

\*RADM Felix X. Gygax, USN - 1943

\*George T. McLean - 1944

\*Thomas Alva Willett - 1945

\*The Hon. Lawrence W. l'Anson - 1946

\*Leslie T. Fox - 1947

\*Sol Fass - 1948

\*Maywood O. Lawrence - 1949

\*Abner B. Hill - 1950

\*The Hon. Porter Hardy, Jr. - 1951

\*Lewis C. Warren - 1952

\*The Rev. Ernest K. Emurian - 1953

\*J. Roy Rodman - 1954

\*O.B. Woolridge - 1955

\*Harry A. Hunt - 1956

\*The Rt. Rev. William A. Brown - 1957

\*Arthur J. Lancaster - 1958

\*Fred Beazley - 1959

\*Arthur Lee Cherry - 1960

\*Richard F. Wood - 1961

\*Dr. Russell Mills Cox - 1962

\*George T. Ewell - 1963

\*Lester Lloyd Knight - 1964

\*John Tydings Nix - 1965

\*Wilfred Fleming Magann - 1966

\*Dr. Robert Monroe Campbell - 1967

\*The Hon. John Ashton MacKenzie - 1968

\*E. Saunders Early, Jr. - 1969

\*Robert Murdaugh Reed - 1970

\*Mearl A. Kise, Ph. D. - 1971

\*Paul Curtis Stokley - 1972

\*The Hon. Richard J. Davis - 1973

\*Herbert K.Bangel - 1974

\*P. Stockton Fleming - 1975

\*Emily Nichols Spong - 1976

\*Frank Langley Kirby - 1977 \*George Delman Eastes - 1978

\*Daniel W. Duncan, Ph. D. - 1979

\*Robert William Wentz, Jr. - 1980

\*RADM Jamie Adair, USN - 1981

\*Dr. Emile S. Sayegh - 1982

\*Peter Eustis - 1983

Bradford L. Cherry - 1984

\*John Paul Conwell Hanbury - 1985

\*J. Herbert Simpson - 1986

\*Anne Hyde Long - 1987

W. Ashton Lewis - 1988

P. Ward Robinett, Jr. - 1989

\*Arthur J. Lancaster, Jr. - 1990

Herbert A. Haneman, Jr. - 1991

Hon. Morton V. Whitlow - 1992

Maury Wise Cooke - 1993 \*Zelma G. Rivin - 1994 Junius

H. Williams, Jr. - 1995

\*J. Hunter Brantley, Jr. - 1996

\*Ernest F. Hardee - 1997

Horace S. Savage, Jr. - 1998 G. Robert Aston, Jr. - 1999

David R. Tynch - 2000

Michael J. Blachman - 2001

Hon. Diane Pomeroy Griffin - 2002

R. Scott Morgan - 2003 Nancy Glisson Wren - 2004

\*Dr. Arthur A. Kirk - 2005

\*William H. Kline, Jr. - 2006 \*James W. Holley, III - 2007

\*Albert J. Taylor - 2008

Donald W. Comer, Jr. - 2009

\*Robert T. Williams - 2010

Cmdr. R. Malcolm Fortson, III - 2011

W. Carroll & Gloria M. Creecy - 2012

Richard E. H. Wentz - 2013

Richard K. Huneycutt - 2014

Lynn Mapp Wiggins - 2015 \*John G. Hatcher, Jr. - 2016

B. Ross Cherry - 2017

Judy Boyce Perry – 2018 Eric J. Sasser – 2022

Dwight C. Schaubach – 2023

\*Deceased



## PRESENTS

## PORTSMOUTH'S FIRST **CITIZEN**

September 24, 2023

For over ninety years, the citizens of Portsmouth have honored an individual for their contributions to the Portsmouth community by naming that individual Portsmouth's First Citizen. The First Citizen Committee, comprised of all living previous honorees, is now accepting nominations for the 83rd honoree, First Citizen of Portsmouth 2024, to be honored at a banquet in April 2024.

A Portsmouth First Citizen should be an individual who embodies the spirit of citizenship through his or her service to the community for the sole purpose of and in the spirit of giving. This spirit is evidenced by an individual's civic, charitable, and/or religious contributions to fellow citizens, the Portsmouth and Hampton Roads communities, the state and country without remuneration and over and above the pursuit of one's chosen vocation.

To nominate an individual, please complete the enclosed basic information form and submit a detailed letter of nomination to the First Citizen's Committee, c/o Portsmouth Service League, PO Box 6647, Portsmouth, VA 23703 or via email at firstcitizen@portsmouthserviceleague.org. In your nomination letter, you should describe the nominee's background, scope of work in the community, the qualities or actions that make that work extraordinary, and why you feel the nominee should become First Citizen. Also consider the nominee's service to humanity, volunteer service and philanthropic contribution, governmental contributions, cultural achievements, and moral and/or religious leadership. Your nominee need not be a resident of Portsmouth, but his or her service should have been principally in or to the City of Portsmouth.

Nominations are confidential and the nominee should not be informed of his or her nomination. Persons having identified a citizen for nomination are encouraged collaborate to present a broad spectrum of a nominee's accomplishments and provide letters of endorsement.

Please submit your nomination on or before November 3, 2023. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Christine Young at 757-793-6390 or firstcitizen@portsmouthserviceleague.org.

Sincerely,

Christine Young and Candiss Cox Portsmouth Service League First Citizen Committee Co-Chairs firstcitizen@portsmouthserviceleague.org

## 2024 First Citizen of Portsmouth Nomination Information Form

Name of Nominee:	
Home Address:	
Phone Number(s):	_
Email Address:	_
Date of Birth:	
Occupation:	
Organizations & Affiliations:	
Nominator:	
Address:	
Phone Number(s):	
Email:	